The heap is divided into two spaces:

  1. The new space.
  2. The tenured space.

The new space is further divided into two zones:

  1. Allocate space.
  2. Survivor space.


Initially, the survivor space is completely empty. A new object is always created in the allocate space.


If when creating a new object an allocation failure takes place in the allocate space, a minor GC called scavenge is started. Scavenge works as follows.

Yazının tamamını okuyun (

Yorum (comment) (1)